Team 91 Box Takes Philly By Storm

In its inaugural tournament appearance, the Team 91 Select Box program ran the table on the US Box Lacrosse Association's NorthEast Regional in Buckmont, PA.  The teams went a combined 20-0 and swept all four brackets, winning the championship in each.

Team 91 is one of the first national club lacrosse teams to launch a full scale box program.  In its initial year, Team 91 rolled out four teams ranging from 5th grade to seniors in high school.  The players on the Team 91 Select Box squads do not have to be members of the Team 91 field teams.  Players on the box teams come from nationally recognized clubs and high schools and travel all over the country to play the "Canadian" style of box lacrosse.  With the victories yesterday, all of the teams earned a berth in the USBOXLA National Championships in Los Angeles, CA later this year.

Press coverage at the event included lacrosse blogs and websites including and Click here for the story.

Team 91 Select Box players underwent a tryout process in October and trained throughout November and December.  The teams will compete in two more events throughout the winter in Washington DC and again in the suburbs of Philadelphia.

Below are the rosters of the victorious teams from the event this weekend.

7th/8th Grade Team JV Team Varsity Team

James Basile Attack Garden City

Alex Bamford Attack Brunswick School

Derek Abitz Attack Calhoun
Justin Brown Transition Hills West

Connor Cassidy Trans Cold Spring Harbor

Chris Adamo Defense St. Anthony's
Marc Cottage Defense Smithtown West Jensen Corabi Trans Hills West Chris Bacotti Trans St. Anthony's
Sawyer Davis Goal Sachem North Cal Gallagher Defense Sayville Will Burdo Attack Chaminade
Armond Diana Defense Kellenberg Jordan Ginder Trans Poly Prep Brian Cameron Defense Plainview
Andrew Giovinco Transition Syosset Mikey Gomez Defense Hills East Noah Cohen Goal Hewlette
Caden Hawkinson Defense Cold Spring Harbor Liam Kalbacher Attack Syosset Logan Danenza Defense St. Anthony's
Sam Lutfi Attack Massapequa Ramsey Lewis Defense Hills West Andre Gomez Transition Hills East
Conor McCormick Defense Islip Timmy Ley Attack Massapequa Keller Jacobs Defense St. Anthony's
Liam McGrath Transition Mt. Sinai Sal Locascio Attack Bayport Casey Kimmel Transition Massapequa
Christian Mulé Attack Hills West Harrison Mack Transition Griffin Konen Attack Massapequa
Jim Osorio Defense Sachem Frank Marinello Defense Chaminade Joe Madsen Attack Locust Valley
Tommy Rogan Transition Merrick David Moyette Defense Syosset Mike Madsen Attack Locust Valley
Jack Rooney Attack Syosset Cam Mulé Attack Hills West Thomas Martello Transition Chamindade
Justin Tiernan Attack John Glenn Taylor Strough Trans Cold Spring Harbor Mac O'Keefe Attack Syosset
Nicholas Turrini Transition Merrick   Chris Pickel Defense Bayport
    Ryan Tierney Attack Massapequa
    Seth Valestrand Trans Bayport
    Jake Weinman Attack Bayport
    Jack Zullo Goal Chaminade


About Team 91: Team 91 was founded in 2006 by Brian Spallina as an elite club team for Long Island players to train and compete against some of the best talent in the country. Through dedication to core skill training, competing at the highest levels and numerous summer circuit victories, Team 91 has grown from its initial four teams to 29 boys teams and nine girls teams and become one of the most recognized and respected club organizations on the East Coast. For more information on Team 91 Lacrosse, visit

About box lacrossse: Box lacrosse, also known as indoor lacrosse and sometimes shortened to boxla or simply box, is an indoor version of lacrosse played mostly in North America. The game originated in Canada, where it is the most popular version of the game played in contrast to the traditional field lacrosse game. It is played between two teams of six players each, and is traditionally played on an ice hockey rink once the ice has been removed or covered. The playing area is called a box, in contrast to the open playing field of field lacrosse.

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


© 2020 Dynamic Lacrosse, LLC. All rights reserved.